Mother’s Day

images

Today is a day we celebrate those who are mothers.  Be it birth mothers, adoptive mothers, step mothers, grandmothers, anyone with the title “MOM”.  But, I have realized this day means different things to different people.  Actually, it means more to some than it does for others.

For me, Mother’s Day is not a big deal.  Some may be sad about this, but don’t, I am ok with it.  I love being a mom and I am thankful that I have the two boys that I do.  It just hasn’t been a day I have celebrated much.

When my husband was deployed and the boys were younger, Mother’s Day meant that I still had to cook dinner for my children.  I still had to be mom and dad.  I had to help them get ready for bed.  I didn’t get flowers, I didn’t get to sleep in, I didn’t get a day off.  So, Mother’s Day because another day for me.

Also, over the past 15 years, my husband’s birthday has landed on Mother’s Day twice.  This meant I had to share the day with him.  We came up with an agreement where I would get breakfast as Mother’s Day and he would get the rest of the day as his birthday. I was never sad about this because I love my husband and he should get a day all his own too.

Mother’s Day just became another day for me.  I still got to hang out with my family and they would hug me and love me.  But it was still a day I had to do for others, instead of the other way around.  Now that my boys are teenagers, they are trying to recognize these special days.  It doesn’t always come out the way they want, but they are trying.  Like today, the boys were to make dinner for us, since I got home from work at 6pm.  Well, my youngest decided to try to make pancakes and eggs all by himself, he was trying to multitask.  I got home and there was a pan of burnt eggs and he was focused on the pancakes.  I got a good chuckle out of it.  Threw the eggs away and I started them again.  I loved the gesture and the effort and was not sad I needed to make them again.  He tried and that is what matters.

Although I think of Mother’s Day as a day just like any other does not mean I am unhappy.  I am happy that everyday I get to be a part of my children’s lives and without them I would not even have the title of MOM.  I am a proud adoptive mother and I would not change it for the world!!

Happy Mother’s Day to all the MOMs out there and I hope your day was as great as mine.

Thanks for Reading,
House Wife with Degree

Leave a comment